Don’t Confuse Laziness with Depression and Vice Versa

Depression is similar to most eating disorders in that generally those who do not understand them believe they are easily cured. The author states “Laziness is curable. Simply do something and it’s gone. Depression isn’t so simple.” Echoing this, it is very common for those with depression to be told to “shake it off,” just as some with eating disorders are ignorantly told to “just eat.” As we know, it is never that simple.

A Manic World

Author: mikael 

I am lazy. There’s no two ways about it.

If people really knew what filled a typical day for me, they would probably be appalled. For instance, I’ve never held a full time job longer than two months in my whole life. Currently I don’t have a job at all and I don’t intend to get one. Neither do I have a driver’s license, or any savings, or a ‘life’ at all by any standard. I’m also getting fatter and heavier by the day – so much so I can barely recognise myself and I’m spotting new stretch marks on my shape-shifting body on each occasion I take a shower. And yet I’m apathetic. I’m 24 now. Oh, and I live with my parents.

I’m a creative person but even then I don’t create nearly enough to truly warrant wearing that badge. Sure, I have a few…

View original post 836 more words

Leave a Reply

